Comet Inductees

Ten Central High School seniors were recently inducted into the Kankakee Area Career Center Chapter of the National Technical Honor Society.

Clarke Busick, son of Kris and Ryan Busick of Chebanse, is a second-year fire rescue student.

Evan Donnelly, son of Aubree and Mark Donnelly, is a second-year law enforcement student.

Jackson Harrington, son of Victoria Harrington of Ashkum, is a second-year law enforcement student.

Jeffery Hermanowicz, son of Sharon Hermanowicz of Kankakee, is a second-year engineering and design student.

Paige Hermanowicz, daughter of Sharon Hermanowicz of Kankakee, is a second-year medical terminology student.

Julia Hilgeman, daughter of Jeanie and James Hilgeman of Chebanse, is a second-year multimedia production student.

Mallory Larson, daughter of Teralyn and Joshua Rasmussen of Clifton and Jeff Vail of Bradley, is a second-year early childhood education student.

Sidney Marquie, daughter of Kim and Edward Marquie of Chebanse, is a second--year cosmetology student.

Dillon McCarthy, son of Beth Prairie of Clifton, is a second-year auto technology student.

Evan Redwing, son of Joanne Redwing of Ashkum and Tim Redwing of Ashkum, is a second-year law enforcement student.

There were 61 inductees from 14 schools. Central had the second most inductees, behind only the 22 from Bradley-Bourbonnais Community High School.

In order to be inducted, the students had to have met the six following criteria:

  • Second year senior enrolled at KACC in good standing.
  • Maintain a 3.67 grade point average for three semesters.
  • Maintain a 4.0 grade point average in employability for three semesters.
  • Receive approval and recommendation from KACC instructor(s).
  • Participate in at least
    • 15 documented hours of volunteer activities throughout the community
    • 15 documented hours of job shadowing
    • 15 hours of internship during high school
  • National NTHS Bylaws will be followed as a guideline for all KACC NHS students.

The 10 were inducted at an induction ceremony on Thursday, February 23 at River Valley Christian Fellowship. Last year, six Central students were inducted.