Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation

Top

Mrs. McGill

Sign up for the News Update.

Sub Navigation

Top

Headlines

Home > breadcrumbs: High School > breadcrumbs: Physical Education & Driver Education > breadcrumbs: Mrs. McGill >

Working...

Ajax Loading Image

 


Skip image

Story image 1_0
45259300d2367

Welcome to Driver's Education

by Eva McGill

 

In order to receive a driver's license under the age of 18, the State of Illinois requires 30 hours of classroom and 6 hours of behind-the-wheel instruction by a certified driver's education instructor. I am proud to be one of the two classroom Driver's Ed instructors at Central High School.

Some eligible students will take the classroom phase of Driver's Ed during first quarter.  All others will take classroom during third quarter. Students will be pulled from a study hall to attend Driver's Ed.  The beginning of 2nd/4th quarter means the return of the Driver's Ed students to their study hall and the start of the behind-the-wheel phase of Driver's Ed.  Driver's Ed students will be required to take the state written test in class. Students will then take their application with teacher signature to the DMV to complete the permit process (must be 15, vision test, pay $20, take written test if failed the first time).  Applications will be handed out to those students with an A or B in the class who are already 15 years old upon completion of the written test. The teacher reserves the right to hold the application of any student with a D or F until they pass the classroom phase.

Once the student receives their permit, they may begin their 50 hours of parent supervised driving.  Please know that 10 of the 50 hours must be night driving and the student should have at least 5 hours completed before they begin the behind-the-wheel portion of Driver's Ed.

Please refer to the Secretary of State website - www.cyberdriveillinois.com for any information about the Graduated Driver's Licensing laws in Illinois or to see a copy of the Rules of the Road.  If you ever have any questions about the permit phase or initial licensing phase of the Graduated Driver's License, please call!  If I don't know the answer, I know who to call to get the answer. I wish you the best of luck (and patience) in practicing with your student.  Stay safe!!!

Back To Top